The Forbiddance

 Catalog: film soundtracks
Composer: Yuri Poteyenko
Price: 9.99 usd + shipping


"The Forbiddance" Original Motion Picture Score (alsofeaturing music from "Earthly Eden")
Limited Edition of 300 copies
Label: KMRCD 035
Date: 2014
Tracks: 28
Time: 65"56

The Forbiddance and Earthly Eden are two of the most recent projects of Yuri Poteyenko who paired both works on one CD. The Forbiddance is a tragic love story set in the time of World War II when a young novice fells in love with an Italian soldier. Upon the arrival of the Russian army, they must seek refugee on a deserted island on Lake Ladoga... Earthly Eden is an adaption of Aleksandr Vampilov's classic play Duck Hunt, transported into modern times as a young engineer named Zilov sees his life crumble around him with only the titular hunt bringing some relief to his conflicts...

Yuri Poteyenko is one of the busiest Russian film composers. He graduated from the Moscow Conservatory in 1986, his majors were composing (class of N. N. Sidelnikov) and choral conducting (class of the professor Lyashko). Some of his most widely seen works are Timur Bekmambetovís Night Watch and Day Watch and the haunting Shostakovich-inspired score to Leningrad. Other scores by Yuri Poteyenko available on our label include Sea Dogs, Age of Pirates: Caribbean Tales, Wind Man, Georg, The Irony of Fate 2 and The Salamander Key.

The Forbiddance marks the composer's fourth collaboration with Alexei Kozlov for whom he devised the beautiful 'Love and Faith' theme which is used several times throghout the film. The CD also includes unused highlights such as 'The Truth' which makes its debut here. Earthly Eden strikes an even darker tone with its portrayal of Zilov, one of the best known characters of contemporary Russian theatre. Randing from the steamy erotic saxophone solo of 'A Romantic Encounter' to the morose loneliness of 'Fatum', Poteyenko perfectly captures all aspects of a disintegrating relationship. The CD comes with 12-page liner notes by Gergely Hubai discussing both films and scores.


01 - Prologue (2:48)
02 - Escape Plan (2:13)
03 - The Way to the Island (4:12)
04 - The Meeting on the Island (3:06)
05 - New Beginning (0:45)
06 - Under The Gun / Do Not Leave Me (5:01)
07 - Cry in the Silence (2:26)
08 - Waiting at the Twilight (1:30)
09 - Love and Faith (2:51)
10 - The Tragic Story (2:20)
11 - Gun (0:53)
12 - Loneliness (1:29)
13 - Epilogue (1:42)
14 - The Truth (5:33)
15 - Hunting and Love ("Earthly Eden") (1:50)
16 - New Boat ("Earthly Eden") (1:34)
17 - Good Friend ("Earthly Eden") (1:37)
18 - After Party ("Earthly Eden") (1:11)
19 - A Romantic Encounter ("Earthly Eden") (0:49)
20 - Despair ("Earthly Eden") (1:43)
21 - Insincere Tears ("Earthly Eden") (2:55)
22 - A Romantic Encounter (alternate) ("Earthly Eden") (0:49)
23 - Walks Away ("Earthly Eden") (2:24)
24 - Unanswered Call ("Earthly Eden") (2:46)
25 - Good Friend (alternate) ("Earthly Eden") (1:40)
26 - Dinner with Friends ("Earthly Eden") (2:41)
27 - Fatum ("Earthly Eden") (1:42)
28 - End Credits ("Earthly Eden") (4:12)
© Copyright KeepMoving Records 2006  
homepage film soundtracks tv soundtracks video game soundtracks composers contacts