Say It In Russian

 Catalog: film soundtracks
Composer: Pinar Toprak
Price: 7.99 usd + shipping


"Say It In Russian" Original Motion Picture Score
Limited Edition of 500 copies
Label: KMRCD 032
Date: 2008
Tracks: 18
Time: 39"51

Directed by Jeff Celentano, Say It in Russian is a passionate romance with a dash of thriller inspired by the real life experience of its main star, Agata Gotova. The film tells the story of Daria Larina, a Russian socialite who meets American businessman Andrew Lamont in the city of lights, Paris. Upon returning to her Russian home with her new boyfriend, Daria is distraught by the cold treatment from her father. What she doesn't realize is that his dad is a former oligarch turned Minister, whose life is seriously threatened by his old business partners.

The music for Say It in Russian was written by Istanbul-born composer Pinar Toprak. Completing his musical studies at the Istanbul State Conservatory, Berklee College of Music and California State University, Northridge. Pinar got her first gigs by doing musical programming for some Hans Zimmer scores at Remote Control Productions. She also worked with master orchestrator William Ross before getting her first major movie, Behind Enemy Lines II: Axis of Evil. Since then, she has worked on everything from family animation (Light of Olympia) to creature features (Ogre), comedies (The Lightkeepers) and sports documentaries (The Wind Gods) as well.

The dark and passionate score inspired by the musical legacy of Russian romanticism was recorded by 75 musicians of the Belgrade Film Orchestra, making it the composer’s first symphonic recording. KeepMoving Records is proud to present the complete underscore from the film, parts of which were available only on promotional releases by the composer. By doing a new mix and including several short but sweet cues for the first time, we’re happy to give you the definite presentation of this sometimes tragic, sometimes propulsive, but on the whole wonderful score.

The CD comes with an 8-page booklet with commentary by Gergely Hubai and personal commentary by Pinar Toprak recalling the excitement of recording her first ever symphonic score.


01 - A Grand Affair (2:08)
02 - Intruder In House/ Running Home (1:29)
03 - Have Dinner With Me (1:18)
04 - First Kiss (3:00)
05 - Walking In Paris/ Suicide Bridge (1:09)
06 - Crossroads (0:59)
07 - Only Two Of Us (0:53)
08 - Exiled Emotions (1:10)
09 - Counterplot (2:16)
10 - Memories Of Us (1:51)
11 - Redemption (1:51)
12 - Final Threat (6:19)
13 - Rescuing Daria (4:55)
14 - Life’s Epilogue (3:28)
15 - Chasing Destiny (1:15)
16 - Last Goodbye (2:04)
17 - And Ocean Away (1:14)
18 - Time Stands Still (2:32)
© Copyright KeepMoving Records 2006  
homepage film soundtracks tv soundtracks video game soundtracks composers contacts