The Irony of Fate 2

 Catalog: film soundtracks
Composer: Yuri Poteyenko
Price: 3.99 usd + shipping


The Irony of Fate, or Enjoy Your Bath! is a popular 1975 Soviet TV movie directed by Eldar Ryazanov. The story is about a group of friends who share a tradition of going to public bath houses on New York eve. When two of the friends get drunk and when one of them wakes up on the Leningrad airport by mistake, he goes to the wrong house (this is a jab at the drabness of socialist realistic architecture). When Zhenya even manages to open the door of the wrong apartment building, a crazy comedy of errors start where the unlikeliest of people can end up together.

The Irony of Fate 2 is a sort of sequel/remake of the original film, directed by Timur Bekmambetov (of Night Watch and Day Watch fame). In this story, the characters from the original film have children who will go through the same comedic situations with a big twist. While the humorous misunderstandings were quite accidental in the original movie, here they are deliberately replicated by a main character, who thinks that recreating the old situation may have a beneficial effect on his lonely friend. Thus The Irony of Fate 2 can be enjoyed regardless if you’ve seen the original film or not – but make sure not to miss the music!

The score for The Irony of Fate 2 was written by Yuri Poteyenko, one of the busiest Russian film composers. He graduated from the Moscow Conservatory in 1986, his majors were composing (class of N. N. Sidelnikov) and choral conducting (class of the professor Lyashko). Some of his most widely seen works are Timur Bekmambetov’s Night Watch and Day Watch and the haunting Shostakovich-inspired score to Leningrad. Other scores by Yuri Poteyenko available on our label include Sea Dogs, Age of Pirates: Caribbean Tales, Vanechka, Wind Man, Georg and The Salamander Key.

The film marks the third collaboration between Poteyenko and Timur Bekmambetov, who had previously worked together on Night Watch and Day Watch. The score has to balance between comedy and drama while retaining the story’s romantic essence in a yuletide setting. Christmas classics (such as "Jingle Bells") are incorporated into the music which also offers a great festive spirit the way you never heard before. There are touching lyrical moments for the blossoming of a new romance while frantic chase cues are interspersed for covering the madcap chases and misunderstandings. Recommended for those who still get a kick out of John Williams’ Home Alone!

Limited Edition of 500 copies.
Label: KMRCD 016
Date: 2008
Tracks: 21
Time: 44"58


01 - The Irony Of Fate (02:05)
02 - Troika (00:45)
03 - The Same Old Story (01:33)
04 - False Call/Goodbye Without Words (04:38)
05 - Dark Alley (01:35)
06 - On the Roof (01:21)
07 - Story of Love (01:54)
08 - Urban Tale (02:01)
09 - Midnight Rush (01:44)
10 - New Year's Eve (03:08)
11 - Sleepless Night (03:03)
12 - Fight for Phone (01:24)
13 - Returning of Love (01:19)
14 - Ded Moroz (00:56)
15 - Snegurochka (02:39)
16 - Rabbit and the Princess (03:08)
17 - Happiness (03:20)
18 - Phone of Fate (01:03)
19 - One Wish (01:58)
20 - Final (03:42)
21 - Jingle Bells (00:56)
© Copyright KeepMoving Records 2006  
homepage film soundtracks tv soundtracks video game soundtracks composers contacts