Catalog: film soundtracks
Composer: Yuri Poteyenko
Price: 3.99 usd + shipping


The story of Vanechka is set in Moscow in 1998, against the backdrop of the economic crisis of that time, the film concerns a young aspiring actress, Nadia (played by Elena Velikanova), who is accepted into the State Institute of Cinematography in the opening scene. On her way home from the successful audition she stops to look after the little Vanechka, the son of a couple with whom she is friends. They are busy transporting their furniture to their new flat. Waving them goodbye, as she is holding their child, she sees them killed in a hit-and-run accident involving a group of gangsters. She has no choice but to take Vanechka home with her.

Nadia initially struggles along with her newly adopted child. She manages to make ends meet in the beginning, but the worst is yet to come: her flat is condemned and the child is take away to an orphanage. Giving up her acting career, Nadia takes up work at the same institution to be close to the baby. She hooks up with the orphanage’s rich benefactor Gavrilov, but she can’t focus her attention on the relationship since she’s still occupied with Vanechka’s fate. When the baby is selected for adoption by a foreign couple, Nadia grabs the child and runs away into uncertainty. When she meets Gavrilov the next time, he also had been taken out by the economic crisis, but his misfortune actually leads to happiness when the unusual family can start to live together.

The score for Vanechka was written by Yuri Poteyenko, one of the busiest Russian film composers. He graduated from the Moscow Conservatory in 1986, his majors were composing (class of N. N. Sidelnikov) and choral conducting (class of the professor Lyashko). Some of his most widely seen works are Timur Bekmambetov’s Night Watch and Day Watch and the haunting Shostakovich-inspired score to Leningrad. Other scores by Yuri Poteyenko available on our label include Sea Dogs, Age of Pirates: Caribbean Tales, Wind Man, Georg, The Irony of Fate 2 and The Salamander Key.

Poteyenko’s emotional journey begins with the "Moscow, 1998" cue that highlights the turbulent times with great social fluidity – people can become poor within minutes! This epic phalanster serves as the home of Nadia and Vanechka, who tender bond is presented in a series of emotionally charged cues that follow the unlikely relationship from their first meeting to the happy farewell when they can start life anew. The album also includes the song "Executioners" by Nadezhda Kopytina as a bonus track.

This volume is limited to 2000 copies.
Label: KMRCD 003
Date: 2007
Tracks: 17
Time: 44"26


01 - Moscow,1998 (Main Title) (02:04)
02 - A Day of a Life (04:11)
03 - After a Crush (01:40)
04 - On Her Own With a Child (01:55)
05 - Prayer (02:43)
06 - Uninvited Guests (02:08)
07 - Exam (“Serenade” by Franz Schubert) (01:50)
08 - Orphanage (02:09)
09 - Together Again (02:41)
10 - Bathing (02:06)
11 - Diner at a Restaurant (03:00)
12 - The Chosen One (04:09)
13 - Pendulum of Life (02:59)
14 - Christening (01:18)
15 - Siege (01:43)
16 - Together/End Credits (04:43)
17 - Executioners (03:02)
© Copyright KeepMoving Records 2006  
homepage film soundtracks tv soundtracks video game soundtracks composers contacts